Skip to main content

A wet morning greeted the riders ahead of the GS Metro (Hedley On The Hill) Hill Climb won by Nick Munro with the womens race won by Hannah Farran

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Result: GS Metro (Hedley On The Hill)

A wet morning greeted the riders ahead of the GS Metro promoted hill climb held on the 2017 Championship course at Hedley on The Hill. The event marked around a decade of running the race in association with The Feathers Inn in the village and as usual the riders received a warm welcome. Whilst it was damp there was also no sign of the prevailing westerly wind which often provides assistance on this climb. Time Keeping duties performed by Peter and Frances Schulz with the able assistance of Sharon Dyson.

Special Mention to juvenile rider Mason Bulfin of North Tyneside Riders – who arrived at the start to discover he had a deflating rear tyre. This did not deter Mason and he slogged his way uphill on a flat. A commendable attitude when giving up would have been easier.

Category winners:
Senior Male – Nick Munro
Senior Female – Hannah Farran
Junior/Juv – Benjamin Johnston
Male Vet – Graeme Wardale
Female Vet – Angela McGurk

1 Nick Munro Royal Air Force Cycling Association 04:40.3 Male Senior
2 Jacob Vezey Harrogate Nova CC 04:40.7 Male Senior
3 John Bowman Muckle Cycle Club 04:42.1 Male Senior
4 Lee Cuthbertson Muckle Cycle Club 04:44.2 Male Senior
5 Matthew Smith Muckle Cycle Club 04:53.6 Male Senior
6 Graeme Wardale South Shields Velo Cycling Club 05:01.5 Male Vet
7 Noel Stoddart Blaydon CC 05:03.1 Male Vet
8 Benjamin Johnston Racing Metro 15 05:09.0 Male Junior
9 Adam Wood Muckle Cycle Club 05:11.8 Male Vet
10 Philip Gilbanks Muckle Cycle Club 05:13.1 Male Senior
11 Rob De’Giovanni Muckle Cycle Club 05: 15.3 Male Senior
12 Ben Wilkinson Muckle Cycle Club 05:16.1 Male Senior
13 Benn Hall Dunstable Road Cycling Club 05:17.8 Male Senior
14 Steven Armstrong Derwentside CC 05:18.8 Male Senior
15 Leon Potter Muckle Cycle Club 05:21.3 Male Senior
16 Wilson-Jay Brown PM Racing UK 05:21.4 Male Vet
17 Euan Dinning Gosforth RC 05:23.1 Male Juvenile
18 Jordan Matthews Velo Culture 05:28.1 Male Senior
19 Joe Stringer Muckle Cycle Club 05:43.5 Male Senior
20 David ZüRCHER Muckle Cycle Club 05: 45.2 Male Espoir
21 Ian Gallon North Tyneside Riders CC 05:45.9 Male Vet
22 Daryl Ahomet Muckle Cycle Club 05:46.7 Male Senior
23 Hannah Farran Team Boompods 05:48.8 Female Senior
24 Brendan McMillan Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service CC 05:48.9 Male Senior
25 Craig Berry Reifen Racing 05:49.2 Male Vet
26 Joe Reed Muckle Cycle Club 05:55.6 Male Senior
27 Ben Swinney Muckle Cycle Club 05:57.4 Male Senior
28 Jonathan Cairns North Tyneside Riders CC 06:13.8 Male Senior
29 Michael Trow Blaydon CC 06:33.9 Male Vet
30 Stephen Pattison Muckle Cycle Club 06:42.9 Male Vet
31 Angela McGurk Blaydon CC 06:53.2 Female Vet
32 Gemma Hutchins Blaydon CC 07:00.2 Female Vet
33 Heather Witham Blaydon CC 07:01.8 Female Vet
34 Lois Jarvis North Tyneside Riders CC 07:22.2 Female Senior
35 Mason Bulfin North Tyneside Riders CC 07:38.9 Male Juvenile
36 David Lavery North Tyneside Riders CC 07:55.7 Male Vet
37 Mick Chappel North Tyneside Riders CC 07:56.4 Male Vet
38 Ray Bell Derwentside CC 08:52.6 Male Vet

Cycle Division’s Shop

Send your results as well as club, team & event news here

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Source link