Skip to main content


Dean Harvey has been racing in his national champion’s colours on the domestic cyclocross scene of late and he’s not the only Irish champion, including on the road, picked for the European Cyclocross Championships (Photo: Toby Watson)

A total of nice riders – for three different races – have been selected by Cycling Ireland to compete on the national team for the upcoming European Cyclocross Championships. The title races take place in Pont-Chateau, France, the weekend after next; November 4th and 5th.

The national federation, via its off-road commission, has opted for three riders in the men’s U23 race and three juniors in both the men’s and women’s events. Both the national elite cyclocross champion, Dean Harvey (Trinity Racing), and the U23 road race champion, Jamie Meehan (Spellman Dublin Port) have been selected.

They will be joined in the U23 team by another rider with international experience, in cyclocross, namely Travis Harkness of VC Glendale; the same club Meehan and Harvey spent time with and which also has representation in the junior team for the Europeans.

Aine Doherty of VC Glendale is in the team for the junior women’s race along with Greta Lawless (Team WORC) and Aliyah Rafferty (Island Wheelers). That is the strongest team Ireland has ever selected at junior women’s level in cyclocross.

For the junior men’s race, another very strong trio has been picked; Conor Murphy (Rostrevor MTB), David Gaffney (Dungarvan CC) and Joseph Mullen (Navan Road Club).

“We are excited to be travelling with such a young and strong team to the European Cyclo-cross Championships at Pont-Chateau,” said Paul Birchall of Cycling Ireland’s off-road commission. “With a mix of experience levels and age categories, there is one clear goal for each team member – to represent Ireland and themselves to the very best of their ability.

“To have nine riders travelling to this major competition confirms to me the positive development of Cyclo-cross in Ireland and on the international stage.”

Team Ireland | European Cyclocross Champs

Junior Women – November 4th, 10am Irish Time

  • Aine Doherty
  • Greta Lawless
  • Aliyah Rafferty

Junior Men – November 5th, 10am Irish Time

  • Conor Murphy
  • David Gaffney
  • Joseph Mullen

U23 Men – November 4th, 12:30pm Irish Time

  • Dean Harvey
  • Jamie Meehan
  • Travis Harkness

#Ninerider #Irish #team #European #Cyclocross #Championships

Source link