Skip to main content

Women’s Commission of Cycling Ireland

2020 AGM


  • Venue: Zoom meeting hosted by Cycling Ireland
  • Date: 20th September 2020
  • Time: 14.30

The meeting was introduced and Zoom functions were explained – Margo Finnegan

Agenda was presented – Róisín Kennedy

Chairperson’s Address was presented as published on – Roisin Kennedy

Minutes of last year’s AGM were proposed by Peter Finn and seconded by Colin Mac Hale.

Treasurer’s Report presented as published – Colin Mac Hale

Update on Cycling Ireland activities – Margo Finnegan

The Chairperson presented the following Rep Reports as published on

  • Secretary / PRO / Track / Grading
  • Corkagh Park
  • Munster
  • Off-Road
  • Youth

Elections for four vacant positions:

  • Chairperson (Colin Mac Hale, Inspiration Cycling Club, elected unopposed)
  • Youth Rep (Brendan Whelan, Arcane Cycling Team, elected unopposed)
  • Secretary
  • Corkagh Park

There were three late nominations and one late expression of interest for the Corkagh Park role. Details of the nominations will be forwarded to the incoming Chairperson, and the incoming Committee will consider co-opting them for a 2 year term.


No motions for this AGM or the Cycling Ireland AGM were received by the Secretary in advance of the meeting.

AOB received in advance of the meeting:

Three items for discussion were received in advance of the meeting and they were all read out in full.

To summarise:

  • Women’s Grading categories (W2 and W1 groups being combined in some races) from Bea Golczak (Orwell Wheelers).

The suggestions received from Bea will be considered by the new Committee.

  • Request for additional Master’s Events and promotion for the upcoming Master Women’s TT in October from Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers).

The event was promoted on and the addition of future events will be considered by the incoming Committee.

  • Four questions from Richard (Navan Road Club Youth Officer) re Youth training camps / racing abroad / Youth Commission plans / online Youth coaching / HP pathway for Youth

All queries will be brought by the incoming Youth Rep to the Youth Commission for consideration.

Attendees were invited to submit any additional comments on the AOB described above, or any of the Rep Reports – none were received.

AOB received during the meeting:

# Question Asker Name Answer / Comments


I nominate Susie Mitchell, Sundrive Track Team 20LC0685 for the commission. D Madden Nomination later withdrawn by D Madden.


Is the position of secretary now vacant? U May Yes.


Hi Margo, Roisin, Brendan and Colin – well done on presenting a slick online meeting, and thanks for all your Women In Sport efforts for 2020. I’m greatly encouraged by the level of interaction between the Commission and CI staff and this can be held as an exemplar for how I hope all Commissions will be conducted going forward. I unfortunately need to jump off the call now – but thanks for having me along. Cheers, Matt McKerrow. M McKerrow N/A


Sorry – I meant Treasurer! U May Yes.


Can we establish a working group on grading? From women who are involved and racing in the sport. There are a few of us who are interested in working on this D Madden Forwarded to the incoming Committee.


What is the proess for co-opting into roles which didn’t receive nominations? U May As per Rules_for_Prov_Feds_and_Commissions_Amended_13th_December_2009.doc and Cycling Ireland’s Memo & Arts 2017


When comes to grading those racing with the men should in some way be considered. Some woman are racing full time with men so not getting points to be upgraded but are stronger than most. J Bates Forwarded to the incoming Committee.

Cycling Ireland members registered to attend the AGM:

Roisin Kennedy Teresa Finn Deena Blacking
Brendan Whelan Liz Roche Peter Finn
Lorna Reilly Bernie Cummins Naomi Wade
Colin MacHale Matt McKerrow Elizabeth Kent
Margo Finnegan Sandra Telford Agnieszka Samsel
Victoria Kennedy Alison Smith Orla Hendron
Shaun Mc Bride Angela Hoare Deborah Madden
Kate Earlie Richard Shakespeare Monica Marconi
Jennifer Bates Beata Golczak Gillian McDarby
Emma Desmond Una May Julieann Byrne
Claire Young Yvonne Doran Louise Keane
Arron Fox Chloe Bocquillon Keela Mac Hale
Dick O’Brien Marcus Dowling

Source link