Skip to main content


Joe Pidcock crosses the line in Killorglin ahead of Odhran Doogan and Patrick O’Loughlin at stage 4 of Dornan Rás Mumhan (Photo: Caroline Kerley)

Joe Pidcock has led a Trinity Racing clean sweep of stage and overall on the final day of Dornan Rás Mumhan; the British rider taking a very strong win into Killorglin as his team mate, 19-year-old Australian Luke Tuckwell, wrapped up the general classification.

The Irish young guns were also well represented at the pointy end today, with U23 internationals Odhran Doogan (Caldwell Cycles) and Patrick O’Loughlin (Greenmount Cycling Academy) showing their strength at the end of a hard weekend of racing, finishing 2nd and 3rd on the stage.

But at the head of affairs British Continental team Trinity was on the target again today just 24 hours after its Irish rider, Dean Harvey, won the queen stage of the race to Kerryman’s Table ahead of Irish U23 road race champion Jamie Meehan (Cycling Ulster).

The racing was fast and furious around Killorglin today for stage 5, with an early breakaway joined by late counter-attackers. However, the Trinity train got back on top on the final lap, with Pidcock winning impressively from an eight-man lead group.

Seth Dunwoody rode a great race and was up the road again today – doing big turns and attacking – to wrap up the junior general classification (Photo: Caroline Kerley)

His victory means his team won two of the five stages as well as taking the overall, young rider classification and points classification, all with Tuckwell. Conn McDunphy (Team Skyline Cadence) claimed the climbers’ classification and Seth Dunwoody (Cycling Ireland Juniors) was junior classification winner.

In final general classification, Tuckwell ran out the winner by 38 seconds from British rider Dom Jackson (Foran CT). Tom Martin, another British rider, of All human-VeloRevolution was 3rd at 42 seconds.

While the Irish were nudged off the final podium this time around, there were still plenty of Irish riders towards the top end of the general classification. However, Sam Coleman (Cycling Ireland Juniors) – who was in the mix starting today – was forced out with a mechanical in Killorglin.

Harvey was 4th overall, at 1:04, while Meehan was 5th, at 1:17, and stage 2 winner Daire Feeley (All human-VeloRevolution) finished in 6th, some 1:28 off winner Tuckwell.

Conn McDunphy won the climbers’ classification and denied Trinity Racing the full set of classifications (Photo: Caroline Kerley)

McDunphy – who rode a fantastic race and was much stronger than his GC position suggests – was 7th at 1:34. Another of the British, Will Perrett (Spirit TBW Stuart Hall Cycling) was 8th at 2:05.

Liam Crowley of UCD Cycling Club – now rapidly emerging as a top rider – was 9th at 2:13, just 11 seconds up on leading junior Dunwoody, who rounded out the top 10.

Then came another two juniors; David Gaffney of E Tarrant & Sons Skoda Munster and Joseph Mullen (Cycling Ireland Juniors) finishing 11th and 12th, just one second apart. Those performances underline that duo’s status as ones of watch through this season.

How the final stage went

The riders, with the fatigue evident through the field, tackled 113km, starting and finishing in Killorglin. First came the 24km loop through Beaufort, three times, before 10 laps of the Donal McKenna circuit around Killorglin to add a further 41km.

A six-man breakaway dominated the early part of the stage, going clear on the Beaufort circuit and staying away until the finale in Killorglin.

That move was comprised of Aaron Rafferty (Bohermeen CC), Mitchell McLaughlin (All human-VeloRevolution) Seth Dunwoody (Cycling Ireland Juniors) Adam Lewis (Team Skyline Cadence) Lindsay Watson (Cycling Ulster) and Conor McKinnon (Isle of Man).

Rafferty, Watson, Lewis and McLaughlin got away initially on the final lap of the first circuit before Dunwoody and McKinnon got across to them to make it six up front. That was a very strong group, which began working well, and soon had an advantage of 30 seconds on the bunch, where numerous crashes occurred.

However, as they entered Beaufort for the last time, Rafferty punctured and unfortunately lost his place in the breakaway, with the gap up to one minute and then extending further, to almost 1:20. However, it would go no further.

As the five leaders entered a packed Killorglin their advantage was about 55 seconds and they were going to have their work cut out for them over the upcoming 10 laps. And by the time the were on the third of those laps, their advantage was about 35 seconds.

As the laps ticked down, Dunwoody attacked hard, with Lewis going with him. They were chased by Watson and McLaughlin, with the bunch now just 15 seconds back. And that small – very bridgeable – gap drew out the inevitable attacks from what remained of the peloton.

Thomas Springbett (Foran CT), Ugo Fabries (Trinity Racing) Paul Kennedy (Team Skyline Cadence), Odhran Doogan (Caldwell Cycles) shot out of the bunch and got the front of the race.

And with three laps to go six men were leading; Lewis, McLaughlin, Doogan, Dunwoody, Springbett and Fabries. They were 15 seconds up on Paul Kennedy (Team Skyline Cadence) and stage 1 winner George Kimber (Spirit TBW Stuart Hall Cycling), with Watson just nehind and the bunch at 23 seconds.

With two laps remaining, the six-man breakaway was still clear, though now had just nine seconds on five chasers; Tom Martin (All human-VeloRevolution), Charlie Genner (Halesowen Academy-Mapei), Will Perrett (Spirit TBW Stuart Hall Cycling), Jamie Meehan (Cycling Ulster) and Patrick O’Loughlin (Greenmount CA). The bunch, at that point, was 18 seconds back, with eventual winner Pidcock loitering with intent.

The chasers then caught the leaders, with Pidcock also shooting out of the bunch and joining them up front, with the stage honours decided in a nine-man sprint.

Pidcock proved best from Doogan, O’Loughlin, Meehan, Perrett, Lewis, Genner, Fabries and Dunwoody, in that order. Then came the rest of the lead group, finish seconds down. Tom Martin was 10th at eight seconds with Kimber11th at 11 seconds, Jackson 12th at 12 seconds, on the same time as McLaughlin in 13th.

Matteo Cigala (Team Dan Morrissey Primor by Pissei) led in the peloton at 17 seconds from JB Murphy of Cycling Leinster, with yellow jersey Tuckwell safely in that group and wrapping up the overall title for 2024.

#Pidcock #completes #Trinity #Racing #clean #sweep #Rás #Mumhan #Video

Source link